How to Get Paid as a Designer

7 Apr

Mike Monteiro and Gabe Levine make the best case I’ve seen for consistently having legal counsel review and enforce contracts. I’m pretty sure every designer, especially those who have freelanced, has been completely taken advantage of.

Early on in my career an employer took advantage of me for several thousand dollars. At the time, I was new to the industry, afraid of talking about money and I undervalued my worth as a designer. I also wanted to make sure that I maintained a positive relationship with my employer because they did give me my first real gig in the industry and I needed their recommendation. All in all, this was a learning experience that I’m glad I got out of the way early in my career. Now, when I work as a consultant, money and contracts are the first thing I talk about with my clients.


2011/03 Mike Monteiro | F*ck You. Pay Me. from SanFrancisco/CreativeMornings on Vimeo.

